Richard Hall's Plain Text

Presentations in a browser

Making presentations over Zoom has become a regular part of my working life over the last two years and even when the pandemic is finally over, I don't think that is going to change.

I started out using Powerpoint and Impress, its Libre Office equivalent, but I've never got on with PowerPoint and didn't enjoy the experience.

Then I discovered reveal.js

reveal.js is an open source HTML presentation framework. It's a tool that enables anyone with a web browser to create fully-featured and beautiful presentations for free. Presentations made with reveal.js are built on open web technologies. That means anything you can do on the web, you can do in your presentation.

I find my presentations far easier to put together than before, and I've had many fewer problems running them in zoom. It's a win. No doubt there are other ways of doing the same thing, but reveal.js works for me